images

tandemforsgren.blogspot.com

There are two kinds of people in the world – the realists and the dreamers. A realist sees the world through a clear glass and the dreamers, well, sees it through multi-colored church windows. They are the ones who sees a hat and the ones who sees a boa constrictor digesting an elephant. Heck, they are the ones that make up the world.

One day, I was asked where I wanted to pitch. I didn’t answer. I wasn’t sure. I didn’t know what kind of life I wanted to live and I most certainly haven’t given it a thought. Will I be in team realist or will I be in team dreamer? Will I be making the magnificent plans or will I be the one making the plans happen?

you-must-know-beyond-what-you-see

cleerecherry.com

That question bothered me for days. I know that there is beauty in not knowing but there’s also beauty in knowing and I wanted to know! Heck, it was a question about me and I didn’t know the answer. Then finally, it hit me. I probably am a dreamer. Just imagining but never achieving a tangible result. I still wanted to argue on my realization because I have always looked at dreamers in a negative light but tried to become my own voice of reason and told myself to accept the truth. The evidences were clear. When I was a kid I had a lot of dreams. I told myself that I wanted to be a doctor but I sucked at chemistry. I wanted to be a singer but I was tone deaf. I wanted to have a lot of friends but I can never start a conversation. I imagined a beautiful image to paint on my wall but up until now it still remains as a plain and boring white wall. I definitely had the magnificent plans but I had no way of knowing how to do them.

faith_of_a_dreamer_by_mysterykids-d4b9dnd

thedarkglobe.wordpress.com

I was self-loathing for an entire day, wondering how it was possible for a dreamer to end up in a family of realist. I wanted to be a realist so badly. I wanted to be like other people with concrete and well thought of plans in life. To accept the reality before everything blows up on your face and end up making a bigger mess. I want to the person who bears in mind that sometimes it’s okay to walk away from something when the consequences outweigh the risk. I guess in this world that we live in everybody is addicted on the idea of being realist rather than being a dreamer because it equates to a better and comfortable life.

I had crazy thoughts running round my head like maybe I was adopted  or that my parents wouldn’t love me for being different or maybe I’ll grow old as a stoner, always floating high up the clouds and never finding my way back. At the same time I felt relieved because I realized that my frequent misunderstanding with my parents was based on our conflicting outlooks and attitudes in life. It actually reminded me about the part in the Little Prince where the narrator draws a box but the Little Prince saw something different, he saw a sheep inside a box.

tumblr_lvccihVwL51qjuuqbo1_500

dreamersvsrealists.wordpress.com

For a dreamer to live in a family of realists is hard. You’d think a realist would end up with a realists and a dreamer with a dreamer but often times it’s the other way around.

Take my grandparents for example; married for almost sixty years, I don’t know how my grandparents fought the urge to kill each other. They’re brains were like from two opposite poles. My grandfather would invest everything in a gamble, would jump off a cliff, and would elope with a girl that he likes and go to court for kidnapping if he wants and has to. He can dream about going around the world and be back by dawn if he wants to. He can stare at the sunset and just stay there forever. My grandmother on the other hand was different. She was determined, works hard for everything and is not willing to take risks. She is the epitome of logical thinking. She told us never to do anything if it sounds stupid. Consult from experts, think about every step and never believe in chances. Everything she does is well thought of, calculated and precise. They hated each other’s guts but loved each other to death.

heart-and-mind

messageinabottleblog.wordpress.com

One day I asked my grandfather why he’s still with my grandmother given that they’re so different from each other and that not a day goes by that they don’t fight and he told me “Without your grandmother, I would probably be in a drug lord, in jail, dead or a beggar asking for alms from anyone who passes by. You’re grandma was always there to save me from my crazy self.” I asked the same thing to my grandmother and she said: “You’re grandpa can be a pain in the neck but he’s my strength. Most of the time I want to strangle him but most of the time I wish I had his courage. I’ve always been scared of heights but with him I’m not afraid to fly.”

Remember there are only the two types of people in the world. You can either be one or the other. But in a world that is over 7 billion in population, you can never say that you are never to come across someone different from you. If you do, don’t fight them, embrace and understand them. For you see, just like what was said in the series entitled Modern family “… the dreamers need the realists to keep the dreamers from soaring too close to the sun. And the realists? Well without the dreamers, they might not ever get off the ground”

NOT MY PHOTO taken from: http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-BIfzgLiRJEw/UXAz-MjKWvI/AAAAAAAAAQs/mdM82hH1UBA/s1600/the+dreamers+and+realist+small.jpg

aanchaljairath.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

