A different wind

Scanning my photo gallery led me to dwell on this photo with my grandpa

Me and Grandpa

Me and Grandpa

and it reminded me of a line from the Modern Family:

Raising a kid is like sending a rocket ship to the moon. You spend the early years in constant contact, and then one day. Around the teenage years, they go around the dark side and they’re gone. And all you can do is wait for that faint signal that says they’re coming back. -Modern Family

There is some truth in this. At a certain time in our lives we do drift away. It’s not necessarily bad since we do need see the world through our own eyes and we have to spread our wings in order to soar and the nest is just not big enough. My only regret was I soared alone. I wish I could have soared with them and not away from them. I wish I could have shared what I learned and what I know, the way they shared everything to us.

(not that I did a lot of soaring but there were still time spent just to intentionally get away from them and sometimes it sucks)

I guess watching the older people around me grow up and how they were with their parents as well as what I see in the television made me think that I was doing what was right. This was the norm and I’m going to stick with it. I just can’t believe it took me up to my late 3rd year high school to realize that I was wrong.

*To my parents, grandparents and beloved aunties and uncles… I WISH I CAME BACK SOONER. I would have loved to spend more time with all of you.

Leave a Reply

