Version 2014

2014-Facebook-Covers-Happy-New-Year-2014-FB-Timeline-Cover-Image

The New Year is coming and I got some pretty insightful lessons learned before I transition from 2013 me to the new and improved 2014 me.

I was reading Donald Miller’s book over the Christmas break and it turned out I got more from my P55.00 than I imagined. It wasn’t such an OHMHAYGAOWD moment when I read the book but it was more of an OYEEAAAAH moment. I mean the thought/idea/lesson that Don was trying to say has always been there and I think you don’t need to be a rocket scientist to know it. I ‘m pretty sure we’ve all come across the same realization like he had. Probably one summer afternoon when we were banished at our grandparent’s house because (apparently) we could use an “attitude adjustment” or while you were enjoying your joint. But unfortunately not all of us thought of making a book out of it, not like Don.

In the book, Donald Miller wanted to instil the idea that we are all living a story and that we are characters of this story (DUH) that wants something and over comes conflicts in order to get it.

Donald Miller

Donald Miller

jpeg

So see, it doesn’t take a PhD or an MA to realize what Don was trying to explain in his book. We are all a bunch of good and bad stories waiting to happen. But a good story doesn’t just write itself. It takes courage to actually do it because in order to have a good story demands an inciting incident to happen in our lives. It means you actually have to dip yourself into the water.  However, this is where the problem arises because it’s different when you think about it and it’s different when you’re actually doing something about it. In order to have a good story in your life you need to actually move your fat touché. This is where we get stuck; this is where I got stuck for so many years.

Thus, with Donald Miller’s book as my lifestyle coach I decided to dip myself into the water and have my own share of my inciting incident this Christmas break. Okay, maybe it wasn’t a world changing event or wasn’t really as awesome as creating your own religion to control humanity and it’s not even close to ending hunger but nevertheless it was an incident which I found (sort of) inciting (what? Don’t judge! I live a very simple life). So yeah, this inciting incident… *drum rolls* I started jogging!

6890238a19f066b77cd019a1540447ce13036ca427bf1384555bfc847c51596a

Yeah, I know it sounds pathetic but it’s a start (a slow start). It was different because I was always saying that I’ll jog tomorrow and then it never happens. I just end up sleeping or eating my bag of chips while I watch Running man (a Korean show) rather than actually burning off unwanted calories. That’s probably why my mom always laughs at me when I suggest that we jog and then all agrees to it then she makes a snide comment about me not being able to wake up and being too lazy to actually move a finger. I just can’t understand it; I like seeing people do sports. I like watching them do athletic stuff but I can’t seem to have my fat self to get up and move. It’s so hard! Ugh! It’s different when you imagine it and when you’re actually doing it. It’s different when you imagine that you’re not fat and actually doing something to lose the extra pounds and eventually not being fat.

This is probably because we are scared to actually get out of the comfort zone. Heck, I won’t be a hypocrite and say I’m not. I am a wimp; I’m a big fat wimp. That’s probably why I liked Donald Miller’s book, because I can totally relate to him. As he speaks about himself, it feels like he’s speaking in behalf of me. A wimp with a crazy imagination but at the end of the day all he has are his imagination and has nothing real.

He reminded me that if our life will be a well written story, good enough to become a movie then it’s going to need explosives.

0201group3

(Okay, probably not the real ones that would be blowing up while you walk away from a dramatic scene with all the fire and pyrotechnic explosive shit but it could come in different forms. It could be anything that happens to our lives that would give meaning to your existence or give you a sense of purpose and adrenaline.)

What he also noted was that conflicts lead to something bigger and better and that we should not think of it as the end rather we should think of it as the exciting part of the entire story. Nobody wants a monotonous flow in life, it’s draggy and boring. We should never dwell on the easy. Life today is so much easier than before and sometimes you wonder if technology deprived you of a chance for a good story. My grandparent told us great stories about how the Japanese colonization was so hard for them and that life today is so much easier. Heck, my mom used to tell me that we’re lucky today because we have faucets because back then they had to pump for their water and carry it all the way to their house. When they were kids their iron was still powered by coal and that they only had a “gasera” for light. I wonder what kind of a story I will tell my grandparents when I grow old.

What? That it was so hard to study back then because we had to type manually but now you just have to talk and the computer will automatically encode what you’re saying? That it was also hard for us because we had to Google for our assignments and we have everything provided for our expense. *This makes me want to slap my future fat self if I end up saying this to my daughter or grandchildren*

Lastly, Don Miller also said that the most important thing is not the prize but how the journey moulded you into a better person. This was the best thing I got from this book. That hardship should never make you bitter but better. The transformation was the most important part of the story, what you got from it and the friends and lesson you learned during the journey. It’s like the movies; all the events in your life boils up into this one beautiful end scene and you can’t build that by simply sitting on a couch.

Thus, this year I’m going to get off the couch and start making my life worth living.

Leave a Reply

